Noting help needed

Big Panda, modified 6 Months ago at 10/6/23 3:13 AM
Created 6 Months ago at 10/6/23 3:13 AM

Noting help needed

Hello! 

Long time lurker and learner from all of you - thank you. 

I have been meditating 'seriously' for 3 years, although my practice has taken on all kinds of forms over this time (everything from mahamudra to body scanning to shadow work, koans and self-enquiry etc etc.)

I have enjoyed the process of experimenting and exploring, but recently decided it was time to commit and dig into one technique consistenly over the long term. I've opted for Mahasi-style noting as I've found it the easiest to integrate into daily tasks (e.g. driving, social situations) and find it logically appealing. 

Having been at this for a while now, I have two questions:

1. There is a pattern appearing whereby I'll get on a good roll with noting steadily and consistently at a gentle pace, focussing on really diving into the object with my awareness. This goes on for a while and thoughts like 'this is going well' begin to arise. Inevitably, though, sensations begin to be noticed at an increasingly high frequency and actually noting them with a verbal or mental label becomes impossible, so I try to stick with the myriad things arising and passing away as best I can. Without the noting, though, it seems easy to 'lose pace' with the arising and passing of sensations and my attention wanders off into thinking (sometimes mindfully, but often not) until I 'wake up' a minute or so latter and begin noticing all the sensations again. It seems much easier to notice the thoughts before they pull me off course when going at a slower pace. Does anyone have any tips on how to stay with the fast paced noticing without being dragged off into discursive thought, when noting isn't available as a self-monitoring tool?