First time noting: WOW...plus question about noting in daily life

Adam R, modified 13 Years ago at 5/31/10 8:58 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/31/10 8:56 PM

First time noting: WOW...plus question about noting in daily life

First my question so it doesn't get lost at the bottom: How do you note when you're walking around in daily life? Or doing things like washing the dishes? I've tried to be present and "mindful" whenever I walk in daily life. My first experience with noting was so much more intense than my usual sit that I'm not sure how to do it while walking down the street. It also seems like if I'm walking there's too much movement to pick up an individual sensation. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I've been doing "vipassana" meditation on and off for the past 2 or 3 years. I've gotten a lot more into it the past couple months. I would start a sitting by finding the breath and then moving to "choiceless awareness" and just trying to pay attention to whatever happened to come up.

I may have missed part of the instructions though...I had been just noticing the breath, sounds, or thoughts but hadn't been looking for any vibrations. I think I may have actually in fact been solidifying the sensations. I'm not really sure, but I know that nothing much happened in the time I practiced this way except I would occasionally feel very calm and spacious. Another possible problem may have been lack of effort/energy, perhaps from getting mixed up about what it means to "let things be."