Fire Kasina

thumbnail
Michial N, modified 4 Years ago at 11/14/19 7:42 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 11/14/19 6:02 PM

Fire Kasina

I work in a factory as a welder and occasionally "flash" myself with the weld gun. I did it the other day, and as I closed my eyes to let them adjust I remembered a part in MTCT about Fire Kasina. 

So I stood there with my eyes closed and watched as a dim red ball/dot centered itself in my vision. After about 15 to 30 seconds a ranbow mixed with white light started to spiral out of the center of the red ball/dot towards the top of my vision. It started to strech out past the edge of the red ball/dot and wrap around it. This all took about 1 to 2 minutes.

I had to stop and get back to work. So I think I'm going to try it with a candle this weekend. I want to record what happens in this thread over maybe a week or so. I'm not going to read up on what can or will happen. I don't want to influence it in anyway.

I hope you enjoy reading about my little experiment.
thumbnail
Bardo, modified 4 Years ago at 11/15/19 2:21 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 11/15/19 2:21 AM

RE: Fire Kasina

That's interesting. Maybe use the image to train your concentration by maintaining a smooth and stationary focus of the attention. I don't know much about fire kasina but I meditate on nothing by training my attention in precisely this way on nothing. This allows me to access those levels of concentration outside the meditation session. As I understand, meditating on nothing is quite tricky for some people and that's why we have a whole range of meditation objects to aid focus and develop concentration skills. Concentration helps penetrate the dream, and we can do other interesting things with it to like, ummm... looking through a telescope or using two tin cans and a piece of string to listen from a distance and so on. 
thumbnail
Michial N, modified 4 Years ago at 11/17/19 6:52 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 11/16/19 10:45 AM

Day 1