Week of meditation "retreat" -- how to make it work?

J Adam G, modified 14 Years ago at 3/9/10 5:46 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/9/10 4:41 PM

Week of meditation "retreat" -- how to make it work?

My spring break is coming up next week, but rather than going home, I'm going to stay on my college campus while almost everyone else is gone, and I want to use a large chunk of that time as a meditation retreat to do concentration practice as described by Ajahn Bram in Mindfulness, Bliss, and Beyond. The only problem is that I have never done a retreat before. In fact, I tend to start reaching for the eject button after about 20-25 minutes of meditation. But that's no valid reason not to do meditation. In fact, the way I see it, it's a reason to do lots of meditation! It's a sign of how much aversion and restlessness are in my mind, and those two things are my biggest obstacles to insight, concentration, and living well in ordinary life.

The break starts with the weekend, and continues until classes start a week from Monday. I'm planning to spend the weekend and the first Monday during the break doing many light meditation sits throughout the day. Perhaps something like 15 minutes at the beginning of every hour. My real purpose on those days is to rest the body and mind so I don't have much sloth and torpor left by Tuesday. Sloth and torpor are not naturally predominant hindrances of mine, but I currently experience a lot of them due to sleep deprivation and mental exhaustion. When sloth/torpor combines with my innate restlessness (they don't do anything resembling "cancelling each other out") then meditation is doomed because I have a jumpy, monkey-like, dull, unfocused mind.